The Dollar Diva


Vintage book pages cone trees

 

Seems like cone trees were EVERYWHERE during the holidays!  I was a tad behind on my Christmas crafting, but really wanted to make some cone trees that could maybe be used to decorate with YEAR  ROUND.  This is what I came up with.

The styrofoam cones from Dollar Tree are about the same size as the ones I used.  I just happened to have some old cardboard cones, which I used for the two small trees, and found a big styro cone at a rummage sale.  Glue does NOT adhere to styro, so first I covered my cones with strips of paper, glued ON to the cone, but also TO each other (which is what STICKS) ; completely covering the entire cone.

Old book pages were hand cut into small leaf shapes, then ‘tea stained’ using my own stain recipe.  You can see how I stained them here.  Then I just started gluing them on!  Using tacky glue and starting at the bottom, I just glued row after row, slightly overlapping.  At the top, I added a few extra leaves, sticking up, then when the glue was dry, I twisted them into a point with my fingers.

Michael said I should have ‘glittered the edges of the leaves’.  Which WOULD look awesome if I was doing them for Christmas decor.  But I wanted these to be more year round, so I abstained from the glitter.  (Never thought I’d hear myself say T?HAT!  I’m usually all about the glitter!)

One Response to 'Vintage book pages cone trees'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Vintage book pages cone trees'.


  1. […] 5. Vintage book pages cone tree […]


Leave a comment