The Dollar Diva


Upcycled Dollar Tree trinket boxes

p1290542

These little trinket boxes at Dollar Tree are quite well made and have a magnetic closure.  The designs on the tops . . . .  um . . .well . . .  really easy to alter!

p1290694

The manufacturers stickers on the bottom are nearly impossible to remove.  Much easier to just cover them with a mix or match paper.  On these red boxes I opted for a piece of old dictionary page.

p1290692

I glued a piece of red glitter paper (also from DT!) to the top.  Then a turquoise glitter “JOY” ornament (with the hanger loop clipped off) glued on (I use tacky glue) and a little white foam snowflake sticker (Yep, got that at DT too!) in the center of the “O”.

p1290695

I always put a little bit of ‘paper shred’ inside any gift boxes that I sell.  It’s just a quirk of mine, I guess.  People ALWAYS open up boxes and look inside and I guess I just like there to be a little something inside to surprise them!  You can buy the bags of basket filler paper shred at DT also.  I add ‘other stuff’ to the regular shred to make my own custom blend.  Colored tissue paper, iridescent icicles, hand folded and cut vintage sheet music and just whatever else I can find!

I decided one little red jingle bell (from where else?!?) would look cute on the front flap.

I tucked them in with a few other red and turquoise items in my booth.

I have a lot of red and turquoise hand crafted felt ornaments in my booth this year too.  It’s one of my favorite Christmas color combinations!

I’ve also altered other colors in non-holiday themes.

Leave a Reply

