The Dollar Diva


Dollar Tree Glitter Holly Wreath

Found these solid green glitter holly wreaths at Dollar Tree.

p1290836

They are about 12″ across and came in solid red glitter too.  I only bought the green because ‘red holly leaves’???  Um. No.

p1290841

Super quick and easy to spruce up!  I glued (using tacky glue) little red jingle bells on top of the raised ‘berry’ spots.  And then glued a red glitter “Merry Christmas” ornament at the top, over the bow.  (also using tacky glue)

**** A word about ‘glues’.  I am not a big fan of hot glue.  I ALWAYS get burned at least once, EVERY time I use it; and I HATE the strings!  (yes, I KNOW you can get rid of the strings with a hair dryer.  I still hate having to deal with them!!)   So, I use tacky glue whenever possible.

On these wreaths, I applied the dots of tacky glue on top of ALL the berry spots at once.  This gives it a minute to start to ‘set’.  It really only takes a few seconds to begin to set.  Then I added all my bells and let it dry flat overnight.  The next day, I added the Merry Christmas ornament the same way.

Tacky glue also holds up better to extreme heat or cold; whereas hot glue tends to harden and crack and crumble over time.  Stepping off my glue soapbox now.

p1290842

Perfect, no?

p1290843

The bells at Dollar Tree come on FOUR sizes.  The biggest ones in a 9-pack.  Then they have bags of them in three smaller sizes.  The smallest ones (which is what I used on this wreath) have 50 per bag.    I buy several of each size of the red bells and put them on EVERYTHING!!  All four sizes of bells come in red, green, silver and gold.  And yes, I have a stash of ALL four colors!

p1290883

Red and green vignette in my booth.  The big jingle bells sell well individually priced too.   have a bowl and jar of them.

p1290881

Those same red glitter ‘Merry Christmas’ ornaments were the perfect addition to some ‘snow globe’ apothecary jars I made using Dollar Tree supplies too.

p1290712

These turned out really cute!

p1290716

I actually bought the supplies for these a year or two ago; and just got around to using them this year.  The white glitter deer is an ornament, but it did stand on it’s own,  I used wire cutters to cut off the to hanging loop on the antlers.  The snow came from DT also.  The little bags they used to sell with the Christmas Village stuff.  (Which, by the way, I have NOT seen any of the Christmas Village stuff at DT this year?!?)

p1290717

The trees were also from the Christmas village stuff; they are a little more ‘lime’ green than dark forest green.  They came in a two pack, two sizes.  I used one of each size in these jars.

p1290711

I made one square jar too.  On this one you can better see how far up I filled the snow.  First I applied a thin layer of tacky glue on the entire inside base of the jar, to hold some of the snow in place.  But BEFORE I poured the snow in, I added the trees and reindeer.  Put a good size ‘glob’ of tacky glue on the bottom of each tree and positioned them.  Did the same with the reindeer.  (if your jar opening is not big enough to fit your hand inside, use a pair of pliers to lower them into place and position them, as needed.  Then before your tacky glue dries, pour in an inch or so of snow.

p1290714

A little red snowflake that I had in my stash was perfect to place on top of the lid.  I used  green satin ribbon to tie the red glitter “Merry Christmas” around the neck of the jar.

p1290715

Classic red and green Christmas decorations.

p1290978

~::~

p1290880

~::~

p1290879

Leave a Reply

