The Dollar Diva


Dollar Tree Glitter Crowns: Quick & Easy!!

P1250763

I found these GLITTERED poster boards (3pk/ 8.5″ x 11″) at Dollar Tree.  There were quite a few different colors, mostly bright ‘jewel tones’.  I bought the copper color and turquoise.

P1250747

It IS much more ‘glittery’ in person than it shows in photos; and the glitter STAYS on the paper and doesn’t shed as much as adding your own glitter!

P1250750

To make my crown I cut one piece in half lengthwise and glued the two pieces together, end to end using tacky glue.  I press mine under a heavy book overnight to be sure it dries nice and flat.

Next form your long strip into a circle, overlapping the ends as much as needed to make your crown the circumference you want.  Press together and/or use clamps to be sure it dries nice and flat.

Once that glue is dry, cut your crown points with scissors.  You can cut them any width you want.  I prefer to make my points very WIDE.  The wider points are, the sturdier they will be, and won’t ‘dog ear’ with wear as easily.

P1250751

I chose to embellish my crown with a crepe paper rosette.  (you can get the crepe paper at Dollar Tree too!)   Cut a 30″ piece of crepe paper.  Fan fold it in 1/4″ folds.  Once your whole piece is folded, glue the two ends together to make a circle.  Use very LITTLE glue for this part.  Too much glue and several folds will stick together in a clump.

P1250749

I prefer my rosettes to be a bit ‘pliable’ so I back them with card-stock instead of heavy cardboard.  I use my scalloped edge punch to cut my backing pieces.

P1250753

This part can be a little tricky because your rosette will want to ‘sprawl out’ and ‘pop back up’ and NOT lay perfectly flat as shown in the picture above this one.  Cover one side of your backing paper with plenty of tacky glue.  Position your rosette so the folds fan out as evenly as possible.  Gently place your backing piece, glue side down, onto your rosette.  Gently tap it around the edges; you don’t want it sticking too tightly just yet.  Flip it over and maneuver your folds to even them out more if  needed.  I use a small paint scraper for this next step, but a stiff piece of cardboard would work too.  With the backing facing down, take the paint scraper and tap it between each fold, close to the center.  ( hope that makes sense!)  This step helps the backing stick to the rosette, without crushing all those pretty folds.

P1250754

I just happened to have some copper colored glitter, so I decided to glitter the ruffles of my rosette.  For this, I use regular white glue (tacky glue is too thick for this).  Dip a fairly stiff paint brush into the glue and gently dab it along the very edges of your rosette.  If you look closely at the picture, you can see how quickly the glue absorbs down the folds, so don’t use too much glue.  Once you’ve added glue all the way around the edge; pour some glitter into a small dish and gently roll the glued edges of your rosette in the glue. Set it atop ‘something’ tat the edges do not touch (like a can) and let dry overnight.

P1250757

I wanted to glitter one of my smaller scalloped edge circles to put in the center of my rosette.  But getting glitter on the whole thing in one step proved problematic.

P1250756

My solution?  Glue a tiny scrap of paper to the back and fold it to make a tab.  Then with the same brush I had used for the glue for the rosette edges, I covered the other side of this scallop circle with white glue and sprinkled on the glitter.  That little tab came in handy for the glue drying time too, as it propped up the glued side while the glue dried so it didn’t stick to anything.  (as you can see, a bit of glue and glitter does seep over the edges!)

P1250758

Once that glue is dry, snip off the tab on the back.  I then glued my glitter circle to a slightly larger plain paper circle; then glued both in the center of my rosette.  (that little bit of glue seepage dried clear, so it’s not a problem.

P1250760

Total cost per crown is less than a dollar!  

These would be fun to make for a little girls party.  Even without any embellishments they are really cute.  You could even let the kids embellish their own crowns by supplying assorted plastic gem stones.  (which are also available at Dollar Tree!)

Leave a Reply

