The Dollar Diva


Pumpkin bobble heads at Dollar Tree

Posted in Dollar Tree,Fall / Halloween by trash2treasure on October 21, 2013

This is about the time of year that I try to frequent my local Dollar Tree stores more often, looking for Christmas supplies.  The good  stuff goes REALLY fast, so if you snooze, you LOSE!  White and gold are ‘the’ colors for Christmas this year, at DT at least!

They USED to wait until the day after Halloween to put the Christmas stuff out, but it has been appearing earlier the last few years.  As soon as some of the Halloween stocked shelves empty, they start putting out MARKED DOWN Christmas stuff left from last year.  I’ve found some really great deals on mark down!

I was just ‘running in real quick’ to buy some new hair clips on the way home from the movies (Gravity in 3D!  It was amazing!) and spotted these little guys on one of the front displays:

10.18.13 both malls prijects 005How cute are they?!?!?  And I’d been into other DT stores in my area recently and NOT seen these in any of those others?!?!  They also had a witch and a mummy, but they were not as cute as the punkin heads!

10.18.13 both malls prijects 006Seriously, almost cute enough to use ‘as is’.  But of course you KNOW I can never do that!  They actually remind me of one the style of my favorite modern folk artist, Dan DiPaulo.

10.18.13 both malls prijects 042

The paint was a little sloppy in a few places; the orange from the base was on the boots in a few places, so I painted over that to neaten it up.  Then I glittered the heads!

10.18.13 both malls prijects 045Let my glitter glue dry overnight, then shake to get any loose glitter off; then a quick coat of clear spray to keep the glitter from ‘shedding’ too much during use.

10.18.13 both malls prijects 105This cloche made from a DT beverage glass and thrifted knob fit over them perfectly!

Leave a Reply

