The Dollar Diva


SERIOUSLY slim pickins at the Dollar Store!!!

I used to NEVER leave the dollar store empty-handed!  Lately though the picking have been really slim.  Slim to ZIPPO!!  I hardly ever have anything new to share here in the Dollar Diva blog, and it’s making me very SAD!!

Was hoping for some new items for fall, but it’s mostly the same old, same OLD stuff.  And it seems like the longer an item remains in stock, the poorer the quality becomes!

Case in point.  I went in to buy a few more of the feather crows they have every year.  Still have a few from a couple of years ago that I had stashed then couldn’t find, so I bought more; then found my stash.  The ones they have this year all look like they have MANGE!?!?  

The little chocolate truffle candles they first got in 4-5 years ago in very short supply.  I buy them mostly for display on the cupcake and dessert stands that I upcycle; but people always want to buy them so I started buying more and putting a price tag on them.  Last year they had HOARDS of them in stock, and several new ‘flavors’ too.  Glad I bought about 5 cases of them then because the ones they are getting in now, and seem to have year round; look like CRAP!!

  I did find some cute little ceramic glittered pumpkins earlier this month.

P1080309But there is nothing more that you can really DO to them.  I used to buy the plastic gourds and pumpkins and paint and glitter them.  These I can use ‘as is’; but I prefer to ‘alter’ my DT finds.  All I had to do to these was give them was spray on a coat of clear varnish to keep the glitter from shedding.

***These would be PERFECT to use for Thanksgiving table place-cards!   Just tie a little tag with the name written on it to the loop on the stem.

P1080306These black owls were nice.  Hoping that maybe next year they will make the crows like this, with velvet like bodies and just a few adorning feathers.  But all I could think of to do with the owls was add a crown.

P1080537And I did have to ‘work with their feet a bit’ to get them to stand up.  They kept falling over, until I got the feet bent ‘just so’.

P1080302These sets of magnetic frames are cute, but NOT very magnetic!  They wouldn’t even hold up a small piece of paper.  That’s okay though because I didn’t buy them for their magnetic use.  I’ll use them for some altered art projects; and probably paint them black or white.

P1080300These buttons will be great for some spring projects.  I bought several packages.

P1080307I bought these resin pumpkins to repaint, but I’m not liking how they turned out at ALL!  Will maybe paint them white or gold them glitter just  the outer most raised ribs. 

THAT’S IT!!!  That is ALL I have found at DT in MONTHS.  sigh.

So that leaves me wondering . . .  what do I do with this blog?!?!  Do I remain true to my original ‘mission statement’ for this blog and stick with ONLY posting about dollar store projects; potentially leaving it ti fizzle out and die due to lack of content???

Or do I ‘get with the times’ and start posting about ‘discount store finds’ and make overs?  Because now that I spend so little time perusing DT stores, I get out to Ross and Marshalls a lot more and am finding some pretty cool stuff there.  It just costs more than a dollar!  

I’d love to hear what direction you’d like to see this blog move in.

*Stick with Dollar Store finds no matter what.

OR

* Expand my posting repertoire to include ‘bargain finds’ from other sources also.  (which I have done occasionally in the past)

WHAT’S A DOLLAR DIVA TO DO?!?!?

3 Responses to 'SERIOUSLY slim pickins at the Dollar Store!!!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'SERIOUSLY slim pickins at the Dollar Store!!!'.

  1. clemmiesue said,

    Great finds are everywhere! If you see something we can use, do or redo I think it’s worth a post. Sometimes it’s a great find we can’t get but the ideal is there with a repurposing n mind. Stay with the dollar idea and ex spans alittle. I always enjoy you site


  2. I have missed your blogs…so I say change with the times and keep on blogging!!!


  3. I think its worth it to stay with DT but maybe expand a little . I know thrifty-ness is your mission, so maybe post a NEW budget and run with it.
    Lots of luck and I will be back.


Leave a Reply

