The Dollar Diva


Dollar Tree oval gift boxes

These plain oval gift boxes are from YEARS ago!  Not sure what I was saving them for; but I am still ‘on a mission’ to use up what I have on hand and only buy what new supplies I absolutely NEED.  (like more birds!)

2.16.12 stars projects 005These paper mache birds and chicks were from Michael’s last year.  Bought the chicks on close out, specifically to save and paint up for this year.  The birds were a ‘panic purchase’ last year when I was worried that I wasn’t going to be able to find any more ceramic or resin birds.

2.16.12 stars projects 108The boxes actually cane with matching lids and bases, I just decided to mix them up a bit for more interest.  The chicks were painted then varnished with ‘pixie dust’ varnish.  You can buy the pixie dust varnish already made; or make your own.  Just be sure you use the most super fine opalescent glitter you can find and add it to GLOSS varnish.  If you use flat or mat varnish you’ll lose some of the glitters glitz.  Just mix together in your varnish bottle and brush on like any other varnish.

2.16.12 stars projects 110I just used a DecoArt pen to dot the eyes and nostrils on the chicks.  The glittered eggs were from some floral ‘picks’ bought on clearance; and I just pulled the eggs off.

2.16.12 stars projects 111I didn’t do anything to the box (except cover up the ugly label on the bottom with some pretty paper) glued on the painted ducks with tacky glue and let dry overnight.

2.16.12 stars projects 112Chopped up some green crimped paper that I had into smaller pieces. Applied a good layer of tacky glue to the entire box top them ‘poured’ my grass on and smushed it into place.  Let dry.  Trimmed away what hung over the edges.

2.16.12 stars projects 109

Then glued on the eggs with hot glue.

2.16.12 stars projects 114The birds I painted aqua, and gave them the same pixie dust varnish.  Varnished the glittered crown too.  Keeps the glitter from shedding.

2.16.12 stars projects 113Didn’t have as many boxes for the birds as I did for the ducks.  At least not ones that were the right colors.  Was a bit ‘stumped’ when it can to what to do with the bird boxes after I glued the birds on?!?!  So, on this yellow one I simply tied on a pretty ribbon.

2.16.12 stars projects 118And the white boxes simply got lace glued around the edge of the lid.

2.16.12 stars projects 116Sometimes simple is best when you don’t have a better idea.

2.16.12 stars projects 115Now I just need to figure out what to do with the extra birds and chicks I painted.  Don’t want to BUY more boxes.  Maybe I’ll just put them in a cello bag and toss them in a big bowl full of nests!

Leave a Reply

