The Dollar Diva


Dollar Tree sand castles

Remember these from last year?

That’s as far as I got at the time.  Have been hunting for some ‘smallish’ fish bowls to put them in.

1.30.13 stars projects 057

See the one on the left above?  That is what I wanted to do with a sand castle in it.  Alas, my search for such small fish bowls ahs been to no avail!  So, I decided to look around at what I have and see if I had anything that the sand castle would fit into.

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 004

Ah-HA!!!!   This thrifted apothecary jar has a wide enough mouth for the castle to fit through!

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 006First I applied a layer of glue on the inside bottom of the jar; put the castle in place then poured in some extra sand.  I let that dry overnight before adding the rest.

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 007Some glittery aqua peel and stick letters.

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 005Some jute twine around the neck and a little starfish gift tag that I just happened to have on hand.

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 006Took a lot of trial and error to find ‘just the right size’ starfish to fit in the jar!  Wanted to use the biggest one possible, so that it would show above the castle when viewed from the front; but was limited as to what would fit in the jar!

2.5.12 signs finds etsy 008

A few assorted small shells tossed on top of the sand and my little beach memory jar is done!

Leave a Reply

