The Dollar Diva


MORE upgraded Dollar Tree gift boxes

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 009Prettied up a few more of the white fabric covered dollar Tree gift boxes.  This batch I used ‘as is’, and didn’t tea stain them first.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 011They come with a bow glued to the top, which I pulled off.  (you have to pull very hard!)

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 012They have always come off ‘cleanly’ for me.  But even if removing them did do some damage, the whole reason I am removing them is that I want to re-decorate the top!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 010These ceramic cherubs are from DT a few years ago.  They usually have ‘some kind’ of white ceramic cherubs every year, and I almost always buy a few.  Just don’t always get around to using them right away!

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 013I glued some tea stained crepe paper rosettes to little tea stained paper doilies; then to the top of each box.  Then the cherubs.  I really don’t like to use hot glue unless I absolutely HAVE to.  For these I used my good ole tacky glue, and wrapped a couple of rubber bands around the tops of the boxes and the angel wings to hold them firmly down while my glue set.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 015I also use the tacky glue for gluing on the crowns.  You can see the doily and rosette better in this picture.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 014 The rosettes needed to be trimmed back a bit for the doily to show.  I used a pair of ‘deckle’ edged scissors to create a bit of interest along the edge.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 101

On display and for sale in by booth at Stars Antique Mall in Portland, Oregon

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 016I did one little nest topped box also.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 017Glued a glitter rimmed crepe paper rosette under the nest and painted the eggs with ‘glimmer varnish’.  The bow is the one I previously removed from the top of the box.

So now that I have a few of each in my booth, I can ‘test’ and see which sells better; the white boxes or the tea stained boxes.

1.9.13 stars projects ribbon 127I had a cute little vintage Avon perfume bottle that I placed next to the nest topped box.

 

Leave a Reply

