The Dollar Diva


Shopping the after Christmas sales

I didn’t go out much this year.  Need to USE UP all the supplies I’ve gathered over the past ten years; so I’ve just not been going out shopping much AT ALL.  Because if I GO, I’ll BUY!  Have to FORCE myself to use up what I have!  Seriously, I could open up my own craft supply store with all the stuff I have!!!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 073BUT, I got a Michael’s gift card for Christmas AND they had a coupon for $5.00 off every $25.00 spent.  And I DID need some tacky glue, so off I went.  Practically EVERYTHING at Michael’s was marked down!  Got some pink glitters for Valentine crafting,  Aleen’s tacky glue (always need that!) and a packet of ephemera.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 078

You know all the ‘impulse buy’ stuff they have that you walk by on your way to the register?  The stuff that USED to always be $1.00 each, and went up to $1.50 a few years ago?  It was all 50 CENTS!!!  I got these 2 little notebooks to alter.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 075A couple of new stamps to make gift tags with.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 074Some bird and ornament shaped cardboard shapes.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 077Some cute Christmas cards.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 076More cards and matching tags.  I really like that FONT!  Will probably use these for something other than their intended purpose.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 079A few glittery bird picks.  Most the the stuff in the bins of ‘picks’ was pretty beat up, so I had to search carefully!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 084Cute soft cover journals.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 081A packet of little keys to do this with:

12.29.12 stars Val buys 134Necklaces for the little birds!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 082Some slightly bigger and different keys. (sorry about the bad close up photos!)

12.29.12 stars Val buys 083And some key HOLES to go with the keys!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 085And quite a few of their individually wrapped skeleton keys.  That was it at Michael’s.  Next to WalMart.  I almost NEVER go to WM!  We’ve only had one close enough TO go to for a couple of years now, but I’m kinds set in my ‘shopping ways’.  Do like to check out their Christmas ornaments after Halloween though.  And again after Christmas, on sale.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 059Donut and ice cream cone orns were 50 cents each.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 060SO pretty glittered church ornaments!  These will eventually adorn some gift boxes.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 061Not my favorite COLOR.  Was LOOKING for turquoise dragon flies, to no avail!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 063Grabbed quite a few of these little bird orns for 50 cents each.  Can add wings and glitter . . .or maybe use them with those DT nests???

12.29.12 stars Val buys 067Shoot!!!  The ornament hanger thing sticks out too much to use with the nests!  Oh well.  I can always give them crowns!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 064A couple of little brush trees to maybe paint PINK for Valentine’s decor?  Worth grabbing for just 50 cents each.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 065Cute little bear ornament for 50 cents also.  He needs a crown!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 062These ornaments are SO pretty.  I foresee them embellishing some big paper rosette wreaths.  That was if from my venture to WallyWorld!  Next up, Target!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 068Not much leftover at ALL at Target!  This peacock ornament was a bit of a splurge at $3.00!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 070These glittered deer heads were a bit more than I usually spend too.

12.29.12 stars Val buys 071But I envisioned making some cool wall plaques out of the 2 that I bought.  And that was IT for Target!  Nest stop, Dollar Tree!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 072

I did not NEED a new one of these, but I simply could not resist those colors!!!  I got a few of the round red cookie tins (like I used for my cupcake ornaments) and picked up the case of nests and owls that they were holding for me.

I got a couple more VANILLA scented bottles of hand sanitizer.  MUCH more pleasant the the alcohol smelling kind!  I keep one in my car and use it before and after each venture.

And that was IT for my after Christmas shopping!  I don’t DARE ever shop for GIFTS this far in advance.  I’d surely forget not only what I got and where I hid it, but whom it was for as well!!!

Happy New Year to all my Dollar Devotees!!

Leave a Reply

