The Dollar Diva


Started my Valentine crafting

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 107I hunt for empty used heart shaped candy boxes throughout the year at thrift stores.   Then I do a bit of  collage work on the lids and sell them on etsy and in my booth at the antique mall.  These two are the smaller size heart shaped boxes.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 109First I covered the lid with vintage sheet music, then a red metallic paper doily, then a tea stained white paper doily, then this ready made heart tag.  There’s no real method or system to what I layer on top, or when.  I just ‘play around’ with the assorted papers that I have and select what I think works best.

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 115Oftentimes the boxes even still have the divided plastic trays in them.  Which was the case with these.

12.12.12 projects Stars 044Remember these SMALLER 3 to a pack chocolate candy candles I showed you a while back????

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 113They fit into the divided plastic trays in the box!

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 111Is this too cute or what?!?!?  No calorie chocolates for Valentine’s day!

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 112The heart shaped paper insert was still with the box too!  I’ll probably add some embellishments to that too.  Maybe a sweet Valentine sentiment of some kind?

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 110The ‘chocolate fragrance’ on these littler ones is not as strong as on the bigger ‘cupcake size’ ones, also from DT.  But that I can fit them directly into the heart shaped candy boxes is a big plus!

12.29.12 stars Val buys 001


Trying to decided whether or not I need to ‘pretty up’ the side of the box too.  What do you think?  Is just decorating the top enough?  Or should the sides be done too?  Maybe just the vintage sheet music on the sides?

12.26.12 Valentine crafts 114

Leave a Reply

