The Dollar Diva


A couple of DT projects completed

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 015

Got a few of the nests with eggs fixed up.   Put some clear/white glitter on the eggs (brushed varnish on the eggs and sprinkled on the glitter)  some glitter did fall into the nest, but it came out when I turned it over and tapped on the bottom.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 014Just a reminder of what the nests looked like before.   On the reindeer moss, I just grabbed the tiniest clumps, placed them where I wanted them and ‘tucked them in’ with a toothpick.  I want to look for some greens with red berries to add to make them look more ‘wintery’.    Then for spring I’ll paint the eggs Robin’s egg blue.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 013And maybe I will tuck a feather or two into the nests.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 030Here’s what I did with the little house and package of white trees.  The oval box is from DT also; just some time ago!

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 031I ‘probably’ should have painted the house white first.  It’s more of an ivory color.  But since it’s shiney ceramic I’d have needed to spray paint it, and it’s been too rainey to spray paint!  So, my impatience won out on this project!  I glittered the box lid before gluing on the house and trees with tacky glue.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 032The snowflakes were some I had on hand; just glued them on the front.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 025And I ALWAYS put paper shred in the gift boxes I make!  It’s just that little ‘something extra’ that the consumer doesn’t expect.  This is my own blend of purchased paper shreds and hand folded and hand cut vintage sheet music.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 026Another of the tea stained stain boxes.  I stained up five of these all at once.  Did two of them up with gold birds with crowns.  (which sold almost instantly when I took them to my booth at Stars!)  On this one I just did a bundle of five little frosted ornaments, some extra ribbon and a little “JOY” tag.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 027I think this one is my favorite!

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 028This is another DT box that I already had on hand.  like on the tea stained satin box, I bundled five little glass ornaments with some ribbon and tucked in a glitter snowflake.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 029The little glass ornaments were thrift store finds.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 057While digging through boxes in my storage garage I found a BIG box of Christmas stuff leftover from when we had our own store, THREE years ago!  UG.  These blue snowmen were amongst that stuff.  I just attached them to some more boxes I had on hand and tossed in a handful of paper shred.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 056I typically prefer to do a lot more ‘altering’ to my DT projects, but right now I’m just trying to GET RID OF IT while I can.  Taking advantage of my 40% off ‘moving sale’ (just downsizing from two booths to one really) to get as much ‘stale product’ as possible sold.  Otherwise I’d probably just take things like these snowmen to Goodwill.

12.5.12 finds crafts Stars 094These little red pom pom garlands are from DT a while ago.  I usually make a trip the day after Christmas and stock up on red and white Christmas stuff that can be used year round. A lot of the red stuff can be used for Valentines too!  I usually get lots of white berry picks, red ans white felt.  Red  and white gift boxes . . . anything that is ‘technically’ Christmas stock and therefore half price; but doesn’t LOOK Christmasey!

Now I’ve got to get busy making crowns for the new batch of owls.  Nearly sold out of the first batch I took in last week!

Leave a Reply

