The Dollar Diva


Almost free upcycled glass canisters

I’ve recently bought some jar candles that have metal lids, instead of the typical glass lids.

Not only are the lids metal, they have rubber inserts that make them SNAP ON really tight; AIR tight I’d venture to say.  So I’m thinking that these would be great to re-use for food storage.

I could just glue on a decorative knob (using e6000 of course!) to really give it the look of a canister.

Then I spray painted the lids flat black.  But of course you could paint them ANY color you like.  I just selected black because I had some bigger, thrifted jars that I had already painted the lids black, and I wanted them to coordinate.  SO, for the price of a couple of knobs (bagful for a buck at a garage sale)  a little bit of adhesive and some black spray paint (99 cents a can for the cheap flat back stuff!) you’ve got some very fashionable and functional canisters!

They are actually also quite attractive jars withOUT the lids too.   Because the lids SNAP on, they don’t have the ridges along the rim for lids to screw on.  Pretty storage and/or display jars.

Here’s the bigger jar lid.  It was originally the same color as the candle lids.  I’ve found this exact same jar several times at thrift stores, so I’m guessing it was some kind of food gift container.  The lids to these fit nice and tight too.

These bigger ones with the handle lid are actually were actually the inspiration for the candle jars.

Not yet decided if I will embellish this new batch the same as I did this former set.

One large and two of the candle jars makes a nice little set, doesn’t it?

So what do YOU think?  Embellish them a bit, or sell them plain, as is?

2 Responses to 'Almost free upcycled glass canisters'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Almost free upcycled glass canisters'.


  1. Such a great idea! I had just recycled those exact lids today. I read your post and went directly to the bin and puled them out. Now I just need to wait until the candles are burned completely. Thanks for a great post!


  2. […] Remember this post  about upcycling these old candle jars: […]


Leave a Reply

