The Dollar Diva


The little birds with wire feet from Dollar Tree

SO, AFTER my big box of DT birds arrived from Texas, I decided to take another look at my local stores to see if they had any.  SCORE!  None of the stores had very many of them left, but I bought ALL they had at four different stores, so I am now STOCKED for the rest of the year!

Here’s a close up look at one.

Varying positions and colors.  They really DO have cute ‘expressions’.

 And, as I’ve already mentioned, quite a bit smaller than the ones from previous years; but every bit as (if note MORE so!) cute.

AND the more muted colors on these only required ONE COAT of craft paint to get full coverage!  (others I’ve had to do 2 and 3 coats of paint on!)  I just used an antique white acrylic craft paint.

Albino birds???

After painting them white, I used my fav Ralph Lauren tobacco glaze to bring out the details (ANY antiquing or glazing medium should work just fine).

And of course I HAD to give them a crown!  (made from vintage sheet music)

Aren’t they adorable ‘beak to beak’ like this?!?  Hop over to my trash to treasure blog here  for a tutorial on how to make the tiny crowns.

And the ole ‘before and after’ picture.

And a couple of them in etsy listings:

Decided to try one unaltered bird on etsy too:

What are YOU doing with your DT birds?

Leave a Reply

