The Dollar Diva


Waiting (IM)patiently for the new stock of birds to arrive at Dollar Tree

I KNOW they have had some kind of new style of resin birds in stock every year.  I THOUGHT the new stock would arrive sometime in March, apparently not.  I don’t remember exactly WHEN I bought them in the past, but it seemed like early springtime.  Maybe after the Easter stock is gone they will bring in the birds.  In the meantime, I gave these ceramic doves a make over.

They’ve had these particular doves in stock forever it seems.  For some reason, I always passed them up.  I think I didn’t care for the ‘sandy’ finish on them.   Repainting them and adding some Ralph Lauren glaze helped.

The birds, clear glass bowl vases, clear small plates and Spanish moss all came from DT.  I could/would have bought the candle holder base there too, except that I had a case of others I’d bought for less at a rummage sale.  The eggs were the little wood ornament eggs.  I removed the string for hanging them, and  painted them.

I work a handful of the moss into a nest shape and GLUE the egg in the center.  (those eggs tend to disappear if they’re  not glued down!

Use e6000 for gluing the bird to the globe and the candle holder to the bottom of the plate.

AFTER I made all of these and took them to my space at Stars, I decided they needed CROWNS!


4 Responses to 'Waiting (IM)patiently for the new stock of birds to arrive at Dollar Tree'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Waiting (IM)patiently for the new stock of birds to arrive at Dollar Tree'.


  1. I love them – and everythingelse you create. I have tried Googling to find little birds like the ones you use but never come up with exactly what I am after. Do you have any suggestions as to what wording I should use to find birds like yours?

    Charliecat.x
    PS – We don’t have Dollar Stores here 😦


    • The ONLY place I’ve found these birds is at Dollar Tree. We don’t have any other ‘dollar’ type stores in our area. All I can suggest is to look at whatever low price stores you have in your area. We JUST got a Walmart near us 2 years ago. I don’t go there very much, but they might carry something similar you could use. Sorry I couldn’t be of more help.

      aj


  2. […] my Dollar Diva blog   to see the tutorial for these bird cloches with […]


  3. […] This is a great idea. The bird, the moss, and the glassware I have seen it all at the dollar store. Look how The Dollar Diva put this together here! […]


Leave a Reply

