The Dollar Diva


Pretty glittery crowns

Posted in Crafting,Dollar Tree by trash2treasure on December 11, 2011
Tags: , , ,

I recently made a lot of shabby chic style crowns out of cardboard and vintage sheet music.  Love how they turned out, but wanted to EXPAND my line of handcrafted crowns to include some SPARKLY ones.

Now I could have just made the same cardboard crowns and covered them with glitter; but I was feeling like ‘there was a better idea’, out there . . . somewhere.  So I did a lot of searching on-line.  Nope.  Nice crowns.  But not what I was thinking.  sigh.

Must have had crowns on my mind as I went to sleep that night because I literally thought of this idea IN MY SLEEP!  I had some glittered top hats (for New Years parties) that I had bought last year at Dollar Tree.  Could I fashion a CROWN out of one of those??!?

By golly!!!!  I could!  I HAD to do a little happy dance for this discovery!

And I LOVE the shape of these even MORE than the cardboard/paper ones because they flare out at the top!  All I did was cut off the rim, cut out the top, turn it upside down and cut the points.  easy peasy!!  (with a very SHARP pair of fine tip scissors)

Then the REAL fun begins.  Embellishing!  For this silver one I made a white crepe paper rosette and glittered the edges and a little bit of glitter on the surface.  (just lightly brushed on some glue and sprinkled on the glitter).  The little silver ‘flower’ is part of an ornament from DT.  I attached the embellishments with hot glue; using just a very little.  Too much will melt the plastic hat!

For this gold one I used one of my music paper rosettes topped with a gold glitter ornament.  (this is actually part of the SAME ornament as the silver one above; I just broke it apart to get three usable pieces!)  And a ‘Joyeux Noel’ tag that I printed up on my computer.  Then I added some narrow gold tinsel (from DT!)  around the rim.  Pretty, no?

Here’s the tinsel I bought.  Got some in silver, gold and red.  Will look for more red at half price after Christmas to use for Valentine crafting!

And the silver flowery thingy on this one is the third part of that same DT ornament!  hehe  The two silver snowflakes on either side are ‘table scatter’.  (cant’ remember where from though?!?)

So, of course I dashed right out to every Dollar Tree in the area looking for MORE of the hats the next day.  Sadly they do not have them anymore!!!!  I found some ‘derby shaped’ ones at one DT (will attempt tiaras out of those) and the rest of them had cardboard ones.  SHOOT!!!   Maybe a party supply store will have the top hat style still.  Or maybe they can be found somewhere on-line???

The ‘flare out’ at the top of these is really what MAKES the crown.  Maybe I’ll try to create a template to make flared ones??

A rather ‘bitter sweet’ victory in discovering this . . .

OH YEAH!!!  Don’t throw away the rim and top that you cut off!  I hand cut little crowns out of it!

P.S.  Doing an on-line search I found some of the hats to use for making these crowns on the Oriental Trading Company web site.

Leave a Reply

