The Dollar Diva


Easter egg wreath

Found the egg wreaths in the dollar (?) spot at Target for $2.50.  Pretty sparse and the eggs were kinda cheap looking.  Passed on buying one at first.

See what I mean about the eggs??  Some were dented and you could see the seams.  After I got home (of course!) I had a brainstorm; sp I grabbed one the next time I headed out.  (Trying to NOT go out for ‘just one thing’ these days with gas getting so pricey!)

I wired the Target egg wreath to a medium sized grapevine wreath from DT to give it more ‘bulk’.

For a split second I pondered glittering each egg individually with glitter that matches the egg.  I have a brand new set of MS glitter that is just SCREAMING to be used.  But I’d end up with so much ‘left over’ glitter that would be wasted due to shedding, and it would all be mixed together . . .   PLUS, I’d have to wait for each color to completely dry before doing the next and I’m waaaaaaaaaaaaay too impatient for that!

So I just used some iridescent glitter on ALL the eggs, so now they look like ‘sugared eggs’.

Then I ‘fluffed it up’ by adding some sheer ribbon.  I cut and tied the ribbons; then hot glued them into place.

Total production cost comes in at under $5.00.  2.50 for the egg wreath; 1.00 for the grapevine wreath; and 1.50 for the ribbon (from Costco), glue and glitter.

 

I still think it would be AWESOME to ‘color glitter’ each egg.  I just don’t want to be the one to do all that work!  hehe  Would love to see how it looks if any of you dare to attempt it! 

It’s now in our space at Camas Antiques.

2 Responses to 'Easter egg wreath'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Easter egg wreath'.

  1. Cindy said,

    Love it!!! Went from sort of plain to just beautiful…and all for under $5.00!!!


  2. I love this wreath.. you did such a great job! I can’t believe it started out in the Dollar bin at Target. I hope it’s okay, I just couldn’t help but feature it in my Easter wreath and topiary round-up I just finished. You can see it here:

    http://jamiebrock.hubpages.com/hub/Decorate-Your-Home-for-Easter-Topiary-and-Wreath-Ideas

    Thank you so much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

