The Dollar Diva


Dollar Tree Christmas clearance crafts

So, did you venture out to any of the after Christmas sales yesterday?  It’s my VERY favorite shopping day of the year.  First stop is always Dollar Tree.  (and next stop and the next!  Each store will have different stock left; so I go to as many close by ones as I can!)

FIRST I look for red or white stuff, nothing that had Christmas designs though.  The red things I can usually use for Valentines day.   And the white things work with shabby chic year round.  (white berry picks are my #1 white buy!)  Then I look for things I will use as SUPPLIES for next years Christmas crafting.  Snowflakes, chenille stems, garland etc.

You can see some of my previous ideas here.

And here’s what I’ve come up with THIS year:

Unless you are really INTO holograms, you’ve probably passed these by.  I was intrigued by how BIG and 3D the star was when opened up.  Knew I could make them over somehow to suit MY decorating tastes.

Isn’t the SHAPE just awesome when you open it up???  And actually, you probably COULD sue them ‘as is’ to decorate for a New Years party.

They just ‘pop open’ (do it slooooooowly; you have to ‘help along’ the tips a little) and pull the cord to keep it open.  If using ‘as is’ you use the same cord to hang it from.  If you are -re-doing; it like me, you need to get rid of the cord and bead!

I cut the cord and remove it, then TAPE closed the opening left behind.  (that’s that hardest part of this re-do!  You really need five hands!)  Then I GLUE on strips of paper along the seam that I taped, and the tips and edges; as shown above, to really make them sturdy. (ANY paper will do for this part, as it will be fully covered when finished)   Then I start using the paper that I want to SHOW on my finished project, I chose my favorite vintage music paper!)    Again using GLUE and going over the parts that are already papered first, but in the opposite direction.  (across the seam instead of along the seam)  Keep at it until at least 90% of your star is covered.

Let that much dry overnight, then apply your final coat using liquid starch as your adhesive.  ( this is MY method of paper mache!)   And let dry overnight again.

The center point on both sides is the ‘trickiest’ to cover.  Use TINY pieces of paper and extra layers as this spot will wear the most over years of use.

Since I am putting these in my booth as New Years decor, I added a KISS banner that I made.

This gives you a better idea of how BIG they are!

Fairly time consuming to make, but well worth it!  I always have a box or two of torn paper strips on hand.    I do a lot of  ‘paper tearing’ at night while I’m watching TV.  That way, when ‘inspiration strikes’ I can get right to my project.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

